Alitalia announces Board of Directors of new Alitalia

New Alitalia announced the composition of the Board of Directors of the company that will become the new Alitalia airline entity from January 1st, 2015, and in which Etihad Airways will take a minority stake. In terms of the airline’s governance rules, the Board representation reflects the shareholding structure of the new Alitalia post-closing. The Board will comprise nine directors. Six directors will be appointed by Alitalia, among whom the Non-Executive Chairman, one independent Director and the jointly designated Chief Executive Officer. Three directors will be appointed by Etihad Airways, one of whom will be the Vice Chairman. The announcement confirms the appointment of:

Luca Cordero di Montezemolo – Non-Executive Chairman (Alitalia appointed)
James Hogan – Non-Executive Vice Chairman (Etihad appointed)
Silvano Cassano – Chief Executive Officer (Jointly appointed)
Roberto Colaninno – Non-Executive Director and Honorary Chairman (Alitalia appointed)
Giovanni Bisignani – Non-Executive Director (Etihad appointed)
Professor Paolo Colombo – Non-Executive Director (Alitalia appointed)
Antonella Mansi – Non-Executive Director (Alitalia appointed – independent)
Jean Pierre Mustier – Non-Executive Director (Alitalia appointed)
James Rigney – Non-Executive Director (Etihad appointed)

The new Board, which will be appointed for a period of three years, will assume office immediately in order to prepare the implementation of the transaction.

Email Post to a Friend Email Post to a Friend

Leave a Reply